Welcome to my blog!

I am a forty-something dad of girls, based in the UK Midlands (Derbyshire).  I’m not from the Midlands, though.  I was born in Liverpool, studied in the north east of England, and then worked in Paris, Sydney, and London.  But after I while I got married and was forced (in a good way) to settle down.

I look older than I am because my hair has turned prematurely grey.  This is a direct result of having daughters; I have two – aged 7 and 10 at the time of writing (it’s 2020) – plus my first daughter Sophie, who was a regular visitor at Rainbows Children’s Hospice until 2015.

The experience of having a severely disabled child changed me completely – for the better, I think.  I now do quite a bit of voluntary work, where I used to do none.  I’m a school governor, a charity trustee, a Samaritans listening volunteer, and an ambassador / fundraiser for Rainbows.

I’ve been paid to do various things over the years, including: barman, care home worker, babysitter, music teacher, curtain maker, piano player, violin player, accountant, recruiter, and writer.

I had two total hip replacements in 2016 and 2017 and I’m enjoying once again being able to walk, tie my shoelaces, do the splits etc.

I’m passionate about music, travel, tennis, and cycling.  And my family, obviously.

I love to write, and I’m halfway through several novels.  One day I’ll finish at least one of these, but in the meantime this blog is a place for me to talk about my experiences of fatherhood, travel, health, school, food, travel, reviews of stuff, etc.

Let me know if you want me to write about anything in particular.  All topics considered.  Contact me here.